Posted on

I had an idea for a post…

And took so long to make the blog, I can’t remember if I remember it…

Here’s what I remember, if I remember correctly…

I’m sitting in a room with shelves and shelves of books and magazines.  The table I’ve commandeered is shared with outlets and fixed table lamps.  In the surrounding area are people that I would never find anywhere else in my life.  People you might never find outside of a public tax funded institution.

I tend to find myself here more and more these days.  There’s something soothing to me knowing that there is no risk of having nothing to read.  I think about what Ben Franklin went through to install that first public library and how there seems to be no one in here that will ever contribute anything substantial to society.  I could be wrong.  But probably not.

Is this what good old Ben envisioned when he started that Philadelphia Library?  A large building filled with unbathed and unkept adults, reading the daily paper and flatulating in public like small children?

No, this is a generation of e readers, I remind myself, as I sit here on my e reader, next to a man with a Kris Kringle beard, blasting The Chipmunks theme song through his headphones.

A building filled with the greatest works the human mind has ever created and a strong possibility that no one is here to enjoy it.  Well, more for me I suppose.

About quackslikeaduck

Seek chaos, identity chaos, simplify chaos, make it mine.

Leave a Reply

